01202 873747

Welcome from Chair of Governing Board – Mr Paul Clarke

The Governing Board, when full, consists of 10 governors, representing a variety of stakeholders: parents, the community, the local education authority and staff.

Governors hold one or two main meetings per half term. In addition, the Resources Sub Committee oversee school finance and staffing. The Teaching and Learning Sub Committee oversee pupil progress, curriculum and other School Development Priorities.

Some governors also assume responsibility to oversee e.g. English, Mathematics,  Special Educational Needs (SEN) and Safeguarding.

Our role is to ensure that every child who attends Ferndown First School is given the opportunity and support to reach their full potential.  As ‘critical friends‘ we offer both challenge and support. We maintain a strategic overview of the direction of the school; the day-to-day management is the responsibility of the Head Teacher and her staff. Our aim is to help raise standards.

Copies of the minutes of Governing Board Meetings are available to read in the school office, upon request.